Two Good Eggs

Two cracked eggs find the sunnyside (and funny side) of trying to conceive

Funny – I thought every week was Infertility Awareness Week

on April 22, 2013

While I’m painfully aware every week – or rather, every DAY – of my infertility issues, this week is officially Infertility Awareness Week.

I had this grandiose plan to reveal my true identity during Infertility Awareness Week.  To lift the veil on the issue and stop lurking about, crying in my office, into my pillow and in my car when no one could see me.

I was going to share my blog with my friends and family who aren’t already in the Circle of Trust – opening my heart and hopefully, their eyes, to the pain and frustration of this.

Yeah.  Not gonna happen.

I’m ok with it, though.  As much as I don’t want the struggle to be silent anymore, and as much as I hate feeling like I have to hide this from people, I’ve recently come to terms with it.  As I mentioned before, it’s not about talking about it in general.  It’s about talking to the right people about it.  Opening up to people who don’t get it or to well-meaning people who say all the wrong things is just as painful and unhelpful as holding it all in.

So, if you are open to all of those around you about your infertility, I applaud you.  From the bottom of my heart, I am proud of you and support you and hope that it is the release that you need.  But, if you are like me and can only open up to a small number of people, I want you to know you’re not alone, and it’s ok.  You’re not hiding from your problem.  It’s ok.

And you always have the Eggs to turn to.  We’ll always listen, comfort, scream, laugh, cry with you.

But, I do support the cause – and want more folks to be aware of infertility facts, in general.  Because the more folks who are aware, the easier it will be for me to come out of my bathroom and tell my story.

If you want to learn more about Infertility Awareness Week, check out the folks at Resolve.org and even learn how you can help.

 

2 responses to “Funny – I thought every week was Infertility Awareness Week

  1. Lydia says:

    Yes! I have often thought I should be more open about my struggles, because sometimes it feels like a tremendous secret. However, even some of my most well meaning friends clearly just don’t get it. While I know they really *want* to help, I make it pretty hard by not really knowing what I even need. I don’t want platitudes, I don’t want stories of other people’s success, I don’t want you to reassure me that “I will be a mom some day”. People want to fix things when they are going wrong, and this is something no one can fix for me…so sometimes the smart thing to do is to not set your friends up for failure, you know?

  2. Baby Hopeful says:

    This is so true. I too keep my story to a very small circle of friends and am not ready to share it with the world. And people who do are so brave. I just don’t think I could cope with some of the comments people would make, causing so much hurt without realising it.

Leave a Reply

